Student Transformation Awards 2020


On the 14th of May your student officers announced this year's winners live on Facebook. We want to thank every single student that has engaged in this years process. We also want to thank every person that makes UEASU what it is whether as a student staff or volunteer, we appreciate every single contribution you make. 

We only have a set number of awards, so it's always a difficult choice to choose people, but below are the winners of the awards in 2020. Well done to all of you. You are ambassadors for others to follow and brilliant student leaders at UEA.


Callum, Ali,Sophie, Amelia, Martin

Your student officers'.


Award name


Contribution to Student Community Category


Outstanding Service to the Student Community

Toby Bennett

Special Mention - Oli Gray

Student Achievement award

Will Rule

Outstanding Contribution to Student Liberation & Diversity

Afia Khan

Outstanding contribution to the Postgraduate Community

Lewis Martin

Special Mention - Megan Pay

Rising Star Awards

Katy Beeton


Student Volunteer Awards Category


Student Leader of the year 

Jakub Kaluza

Volunteers of the Year Award

Andrienne Richards

Special Mention - Ellie Armstrong-Mortlock

Unsung Hero Award

Olivia Whiting

Special Mention - Alex Viney

Student Committee of the year

Livewire Radio Committee & Music Society Committee


Student Staff Awards Category


Outstanding SU Office Student Staff of the Year awards

Lucy Dewar & Jack Annaud

Outstanding Retail, Unio and Catering Student Staff of the Year awards

Fanqing Xia & Risa Ishikawa & Toby Smith

Outstanding Venues, Student Staff of the Year awards

Charlie Albuery, Gideon Blake, Harry Smith

Outstanding Team Leaders of the Year award

Megan Latschrauner, Ben Hawes, Nathan Tamea

The overall Student Staff Member of the Year award

Tom Hedges

Student Groups & Projects Category


Society of the Year


Special Mention - Labour Society & Nursing Society

Rising Society of the year

Jewish Society & Students for Global Health

Most Improved Society

Knitting and Crochet

Best New Society

Interprofessional Education Society

Academic Society of the Year

Language and Communications Society

Special Mention - Law Society 

Inclusivity &  Access award

British Sign Language Society

Student Event, activity or fundraiser of the Year

Law Society - Access to Justice Fundraiser

Students for Global Health - National Conference

UEA Medsoc - Jailbreak

Media Honours

Jessicca Barrett

Bronwen Brown

James Penny

Student Outreach Project of the Year

Headucate - Mental Health in Schools and Colleges

Buddy of the Year

George Barham

Student Transformation Award

Sam Hewitson

Special Mention - Yi Low

Course Rep of the Year Award Sowmya Shah
School Convenor of the Year Roberto Bogyere